2019 World Video Game Hall of Fame Finalists

Video Game Hall of Fame 2019 finalists announced

Gaming Nintendo PC Technology Top story

The 12 finalists for spots in the 2019 Video Game Hall of Fame have been announced:

  • Candy Crush
  • Centipede
  • Colossal Cave Adventure
  • Dance Dance Revolution
  • Half-Life
  • Microsoft Windows Solitaire
  • Mortal Kombat
  • Myst
  • NBA 2K
  • Sid Meier’s Civilization
  • Super Mario Kart
  • Super Smash Bros. Melee.

“These 12 World Video Game Hall of Fame finalists span decades, gaming platforms, and countries of origin — but what they all have in common is their undeniable impact on the world of gaming and popular culture,” said Jon-Paul C. Dyson, director of The Strong’s International Center for the History of Electronic Games.

“Whether it’s a true pioneer like Colossal Cave Adventure, a mobile gaming phenomenon like Candy Crush that’s been played by hundreds of millions, or a game like Mortal Kombat that pushed boundaries and changed the landscape of the gaming industry, they’re among the most influential games of all time.”

Fans could vote for their favorite finalists from March 21-28 in a “Player’s Choice” ballot.

The final inductees will be announced during a special ceremony at The Strong museum in Rochester, N.Y., on May 2.

Anyone can nominate a game to the World Video Game Hall of Fame online at worldvideogamehallofame.org. Inductees to the first three classes of the World Video Game Hall of Fame — Donkey KongDOOMFinal Fantasy VIIGrand Theft Auto IIIHalo: Combat Evolved, John Madden FootballThe Legend of Zelda, The Oregon Trail, Pac-ManPokemon Red and GreenPongThe SimsSonic the HedgehogSpace InvadersSpacewar!, Street Fighter II, Super Mario Bros.TetrisTomb Raider, and World of Warcraft — are displayed on permanent view at The Strong in Rochester, New York.

Here and there ...

Tagged , , ,
Jayson Peters
Digital, social and print media pro. Nerdvana's founder, curator and editor.