Historic 3rd consecutive win for Hugo Award best novelist N.K. Jemisin

N.K. Jemisin made history Sunday night at Worldcon 76 in San Jose, Calif., by becoming the first author to win the Hugo Award for best novel for the third year in a row.

The Stone Sky by Jemisin won the Best Novel award.


Best novella was All Systems Red by Martha Wells. “The Secret Life of Bots” by Suzanne Palmer was named best novelette. Best short story was “Welcome to your Authentic Indian Experience™” by Rebecca Roanhorse.

Best series was World of the Five Gods, by Lois McMaster Bujold.

No Time to Spare: Thinking About What Matters by Ursula K. Le Guin was named best related work.

Best graphic work was Monstress, Volume 2: The Blood, written by Marjorie M. Liu and illustrated by Sana Takeda for Image Comics.

Wonder Woman

On the screen side of things, Wonder Woman was named Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form; it faced competition from Blade Runner 2049, Get Out, The Shape of Water, Star Wars: Episode VIII — The Last Jedi and Thor: Ragnarok.

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form was The Good Place: “The Trolley Problem,” written by Josh Siegal and Dylan Morgan, directed by Dean Holland. Other contenders were Black Mirror: “USS Callister,” written by William Bridges and Charlie Brooker, directed by Toby Haynes; “The Deep” [song], by Clipping (Daveed Diggs, William Hutson, Jonathan Snipes); Doctor Who: “Twice Upon a Time,” written by Steven Moffat, directed by Rachel Talalay; The Good Place: “Michael’s Gambit,” written and directed by Michael Schur; and Star Trek: Discovery: “Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad,” written by Aron Eli Coleite & Jesse Alexander, directed by David M. Barrett.

Best Editor, Short Form: Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas

Best Editor, Long Form: Sheila E. Gilbert

Best Professional Artist: Sana Takeda

Best Semiprozine: Uncanny Magazine, edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, Michi Trota, and Julia Rios; podcast produced by Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky

Best Fanzine: File 770, edited by Mike Glyer

Best Fancast: Ditch Diggers, presented by Mur Lafferty and Matt Wallace

Best Fan Writer: Sarah Gailey

Best Fan Artist: Geneva Benton

Two awards administered by Worldcon 76 but are not Hugo Awards:

Award for Best Young Adult Book: Akata Warrior, by Nnedi Okorafor (Viking)

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer: Rebecca Roanhorse

Subscribe for free updates!


View previous campaigns.

Powered by MailChimp

Nerdvana Media will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at news@nerdvanamedia.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.