Black Mirror: Bandersnatch wins first Nebula Award for games writing category

Springs Hosting

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America recognized the best works in those genres from 2018 at the annual Nebula Conference this past weekend in Los Angeles.

Netflix’s Black Mirror: Bandersnatch became the first-ever winner of the new game writing award. The 2018 interactive film, part of the streaming service’s anthology series Black Mirror and produced by Charlie Brooker and House of Tomorrow, is the story of a young programmer adapting a “choose-your-own-adventure” novel into a video game in the early-mid Eighties.

Other nominees in the category included:

  • The Road to Canterbury, Kate Heartfield (Choice of Games)
  • God of War, Matt Sophos, Richard Zangrande Gaubert, Cory Barlog, Orion Walker, and Adam Dolin (Santa Monica Studio/Sony/Interactive Entertainment)
  • Rent-A-Vice, Natalia Theodoridou (Choice of Games)
  • The Martian Job, M. Darusha Wehm (Choice of Games)

First presented in 1966, the Nebula Awards include four fiction awards, a game writing award, the Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, the Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction or Fantasy Book. SFWA also administers the Kate Wilhelm Solstice Awards, the Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award, and the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award.

Here are all the 2018 Nebula Award winners:

  • Best Novel winner: The Calculating Stars by Mary Robinette Kowal, published by Tor
  • Best Novella winner: The Tea Master and the Detectiveby Aliette de Bodard, published by Subterranean Press
  • Best Novelette winner: “The Only Harmless Great Thing” by Brooke Bolander, published by
  • Best Short Story winner: “The Secret Lives of the Nine Negro Teeth of George Washington” by P. Djèlí Clark, published by Fireside Magazine
  • Ray Bradbury Award winner: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse written by Phil Lord and Rodney Rothman
  • Andre Norton Award winner: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi, published by Henry Holt and Macmillan UK
  • Best Game Writing winner: Black Mirror: Bandersnatch by Charlie Brooker, published by House of Tomorrow and Netflix
  • Solstice Award: Neil Clarke and Nisi Shawl
  • Kevin J. O’Donnell Jr. Service to SFWA Award: Lee Martindale
  • Damon Knight Grand Master: William Gibson

Subscribe for free updates!


View previous campaigns.

Powered by MailChimp

Nerdvana Media will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.