DC ditches the Comics Code

Old School RPGs - Available Now @ DriveThruRPG.com

DC Comics’ Jim Lee announced Thursday on its The Source blog that DC titles would no longer carry the Comics Code Authority Seal of Approval, and instead would “employ a rating system consistent with that of the rest of the industry, as well as with our digital releases, which already utilize a rating system.”

The new rating system, which will begin appearing on DC titles in April, works like this:

E – EVERYONE: Appropriate for readers of all ages. May contain cartoon violence and/or some comic mischief.

T – TEEN: Appropriate for readers age 12 and older. May contain mild violence, language and/or suggestive themes.

T+ – TEEN PLUS: Appropriate for readers age 16 and older. May contain moderate violence, mild profanity, graphic imagery and/or suggestive themes.

M – MATURE: Appropriate for readers age 18 and older. May contain intense violence, extensive profanity, nudity, sexual themes and other content suitable only for older readers.

DC’s Vertigo imprint will not use the system, but will continue to be labeled as “For Mature Readers,” Lee said.

The CCA was created in 1954 to regulate the content of U.S. comics books in response to public concern about “inappropriate material.”

The Code’s influence on comics has been waning for years, and in 2001 Marvel withdrew its participation in favor of a rating system of its own.

Subscribe for free updates!


View previous campaigns.

Powered by MailChimp

Nerdvana Media will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at news@nerdvanamedia.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.