Banner: Calling all adventurers! Create or find your new adventure @ Dungeon Masters Guild

‘Moon,’ ‘Doctor Who’ on Mars win Hugos; Mieville ties for best novel

Classic Dungeons & Dragons back in print! - Available now @ Dungeon Masters Guild

The winners of the 2010 Hugo Awards, which celebrate the best in the field of science fiction and fantasy, have been announced. (A full list of the nominees, announced in April, can be found here.)

David Tennant
David Tennant in "The Waters of Mars"

Doctor Who won the award for best short-form dramatic presentation, for The Waters of Mars, a dark turning point in David Tennant’s final season as the time-traveling hero. Best long-form drama was Moon, the 2009 film about a solitary lunar helium miner who experiences a personal crisis. China Mieville’s The City & The City tied with Paolo Bacigalupi’s The Windup Girl for best novel. Other winners are listed below.

The Hugo Awards date back to 1953. Recipients are chosen by members of the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS). The Hugos are presented each year at the World Science Fiction Convention. AussiCon4, the 68th World Science Fiction Convention, took place this weekend in Melbourne, Australia.

And the winners are:

  • Best Novel: TIE: The City & The City, China Miéville (Del Rey; Macmillan UK); The Windup Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade)
  • Best Novella: “Palimpsest”, Charles Stross (Wireless; Ace, Orbit)Best Novelette: “The Island”, Peter Watts (The New Space Opera 2; Eos)
  • Best Short Story: “Bridesicle”, Will McIntosh (Asimov’s 1/09)
  • Best Related Book: This is Me, Jack Vance! (Or, More Properly, This is “I”), Jack Vance (Subterranean)
  • Best Graphic Story: Girl Genius, Volume 9: Agatha Heterodyne and the Heirs of the Storm Written by Kaja and Phil Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; Colours by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)
  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: Moon screenplay by Nathan Parker; story by Duncan Jones; dDirected by Duncan Jones (Liberty Films)
  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Doctor Who: “The Waters of Mars” written by Russell T Davies & Phil Ford; directed by Graeme Harper (BBC Wales)
  • Best Editor Long Form: Patrick Nielsen Hayden
  • Best Editor Short Form: Ellen Datlow
  • Best Professional Artist: Shaun Tan
  • Best Semiprozine: Clarkesworld edited by Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace, & Cheryl Morgan
  • Best Fan Writer: Frederik Pohl
  • Best Fanzine: StarShipSofa edited by Tony C. Smith
  • Best Fan Artist: Brad W. Foster
  • The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (presented by Dell Magazines): Seanan McGuire

Subscribe for free updates!


View previous campaigns.

Powered by MailChimp

Nerdvana Media will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.