Contentious 2015 Hugo Awards ballot unveiled

Books, Movies, Sci-Fi & Fantasy, Television, Top story
Guardians of the Galaxy
Guardians of the Galaxy (Marvel Studios)

The nominations for the 2015 Hugo Awards were announced Saturday at several science fiction and fantasy conventions.

Up for best novel are Ann Leckie’s Ancillary Sword (the sequel to 2014 winner Ancillary Justice), Kevin J. Anderson’s The Dark Between the Stars, Katherine Addison’s The Goblin Emperor, Marco Kloos’ Lines of Departure and Jim Butcher’s Skin Game.

Up for best long-form dramatic presentation are Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Edge of Tomorrow, Guardians of the Galaxy, Interstellar and The Lego Movie. Short-form nominees include Doctor Who for “Listen,” The Flash’s pilot episode, Game of Thrones’ mind-blowing “The Mountain and the Viper,” Grimm’s “Once We Were Gods” and Orphan Black for its second season finale, “By Means Which Have Never Yet Been Tried.”

The Hugo Awards are named for Amazing Stories magazine founder Hugo Gernsback. There are many, many more categories, including novella, novelette, related work, graphic story, editor, artist, and fanzine. The full list of nominees is available at the Hugo Awards’ official website.

It’s worth noting that there’s quite a bit of Gamergate-esque drama erupting over the politicization of this year’s ballot, and you can read all about that over at io9. Regardless, winners will be revealed, and awards presented, on Aug. 22 at Sasquan, the 73rd World Science Fiction Convention, in Spokane, Wash.

Related and recommended