A trilogy becomes a tetralogy

Random House has announced that the third book in the Inheritance series begun with Eragon and Eldest will be released Sept 23, 2008. The still-untitled third book will then be followed at a future date by a fourth installment. Yep – the trilogy has expanded to a “cycle.” You can read the full press release here.

Author Christopher Paolini planned the trilogy when he was 15, but now says the story has grown too large for that. He says the ending he envisioned will remain unchanged.

The author will explain all in a video message to fans on his Web site, www.alagaesia.com.

The first book – in which a farm boy named Eragon discovers a dragon’s egg and learns he is the last of the dragon riders who can save the world from a tyrant – was made into a 2006 movie that did OK at the box office but generally got bad reviews.

Subscribe for free updates!


View previous campaigns.

Powered by MailChimp

Nerdvana Media will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at news@nerdvanamedia.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

About the author

Jayson Peters

Digital, social and print media pro. Nerdvana's founder, curator and editor.