San Diego Comic-Con 2016

San Diego Comic-Con 2016: Friday – Pulps, Pellucidar and pics

Books, Comics, Events, Featured, Photos, Sci-Fi & Fantasy, Top story

San Diego Comic-Con 2016
Worlds collide at San Diego Comic-Con as Elf meets Anchorman.
Fridays are always special at San Diego Comic-Con, because that’s typically the day that the good folks from Edgar Rice Burroughs, Inc. hold their annual panel discussing everything that’s new and coming soon from the many worlds of ERB – and there was some great news today!

While we were in the “pulp” mindset we also attended the Comic Arts Conference’s ” Twisted Roots of Comics” panel, covering pulp magazines and the birth of the modern comic book. We also snagged some great photos of the day’s activities that you can enjoy in our gallery below.

San Diego Comic-Con 2016
Steampunk Peggy Carter
Not even misguided studio execs can cancel Steampunk Peggy Carter!

San Diego Comic-Con 2016
Thomas Yeates and Jim Sullos
Comic creator Thomas Yeates and ERB, Inc. President Jim Sullos announced the upcoming Dark Horse comic, Tarzan Meets Groo, that will have Yeates teaming up with MAD magazine icon, Sergio Aragones. It was also announced that the TPB of Yeates’ “Tarzan: The Beckoning” will be released at the end of September (with corrections to page order errors in the original series printing.)

San Diego Comic-Con 2016
Harry Kloor and Matthew Rhodes
The biggest news out of the Burroughs panel is that “Carson of Venus” is going to be coming to the big screen! Producers Harry Kloor and Matthew Rhodes announced that the picture is in early development with a treatment complete and plans to begin the script soon. A finished film is at least three years out, but this is exciting news as both filmmakers seemed very passionate about doing the project justice.

San Diego Comic-Con 2016
(L-R) Scott Tracy Griffin, Cathy Wilbanks, Thomas Yeates, Jim Sullos, Harry Kloor, Matthew Rhodes
Dr. Kloor (Star Trek: Voyager) believes the stories of Carson Napier were ahead of their time and are still relevant today. The producers plan to adapt the first two books in the Venus series and although the story will NOT take place in the past, they hope to create a “sweeping epic love story” that stays as close to the source material as possible. They mentioned looking for a star in the vein of Chris Pine or Chris Hemsworth to play the lead role.

San Diego Comic-Con 2016
Dr. Harry Kloor
Kloor and Rhodes also mentioned that they would like to do a series based on Burroughs’ Pellucidar books, which Dr. Kloor envisions as “Star Trek inside the Earth.” Here’s hoping they make it so.

San Diego Comic-Con 2016
Eric Mengel and Denny Riccelli
We ran into Arizona comic creators Eric Mengel (Ocho Comics) and Denny Riccelli (Cousin Harold), who are vending at booths M-11 and M-12 (respectively.) The dynamic duo are also distributing their Comics Never Stop (SDCC Edition) newspaper, which features additional Arizona artisans.

San Diego Comic-Con 2016
William Gibson
While meandering on the exhibit floor I stumbled onto renowned science-fiction author, William Gibson, and took the opportunity to get an autographed copy of his classic “cyberpunk” novel, Neuromancer.

San Diego Comic-Con 2016
(L-R) Nathan Vernon Madison, Gerard Jones, Brad Ricca, Nicky Wheeler-Nicholson, Michael Uslan
The history of comic books is incredibly fascinating, as was Friday’s “Twisted Roots of Comics” panel, which featured authors Nathan Vernon Madison (Anti-Foreign Imagery in American Pulps and Comic Books, 1920-1960), Gerard Jones (Men of Tomorrow), Brad Ricca (Super Boys), Nicky Wheeler-Nicholson (daughter of Major Malcolm Wheeler-Nicholson, the founder of DC Comics), and Michael Uslan (comics historian and producer of the Batman movies.)

San Diego Comic-Con 2016
Nicky Wheeler-Nicholson and Gerard Jones
The panel discussed the connections between the pulp magazines of the early 20th century and how they transitioned into comic books. You can learn more about the pulps and even read a few of them at Nathan Vernon Madison’s website: pulpmags.org.

San Diego Comic-Con 2016
Trekkies
Some more fans celebrating the 50th anniversary of Star Trek at San Diego Comic-Con!

Click the thumbnails in our Friday Comic-Con photo gallery to see the full-sized images!

SEE MORE FROM SAN DIEGO COMIC-CON:

 

Don't miss a story! Get Nerdvana updates delivered to your inbox.